JUST FINISHED: Gone Girl

Author: Gillian Flynn

Genre: Suspense

Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

I could not put this one down. It is a fantastic psychological thriller. Flynn takes you on a crazy train, picks up full speed, and does not stop.

The novel is written using an intense first person point of view with each chapter rotating from the viewpoint of husband and wife. I always love this style of writing as it makes the reader feel like they are literally inside the main character’s head. You know their thoughts and opinions about everything; a good choice considering the ending theme on this one.

The first half of the book is a rotating time frame with the husband’s story being in the present and the wife speedily catching up to the present time frame. The last half of the book is all in the present. Flynn had to be extremely crafty in telling each character’s story and timing when exact information had to be released to the reader. It kept me very absorbed in the book because I found myself reading one chapter and then having to read the next to see what was going on with the other character. Like I said, I couldn’t put it down.

My only beef was with the ending. Now, I don’t want to spoil anything, but I will say I didn’t quite get the satisfaction out of the ending that I would of liked. I wanted something a little more savory, if you will.  Just my opinion.

This is definitely a book I will suggest to others to check out. It is a quick read (if you don’t put it down!) and will keep you very entertained.

Leave a Reply

