THE SERPENT’S DOOR

I can’t explain what I felt at that moment. All I knew was that I felt.

My heart was beating, pumping blood through my ears.

My insides were turning and a tremor was running up and down my spine.

This was it. This was what we had waited for.

Fifty-seven days and fifty-six nights and what was before us was the end. The end to a very long journey and a mysterious beginning. I think each of us didn’t know what to expect. We didn’t want to move a step further. One more step meant it was all over. This great adventure of ours.

I observed the huge, golden door that stood in front of us. It was inlaid with intricate carvings of serpents tangled with ancient verse. The door itself gave a soft glow to the cavernous room. There was beauty in the door. Such beauty would not exist in the things which lay beyond it.

The torches surrounding the room flickered. I gave a quick look behind us to make sure none had followed.  Only shadows crawled on the rocky walls.

Sweat was pouring down my brow. I looked over at Sonny. He stared back with those ghostly eyes but there was hint of glimmer in them. His curiosity had led us here and we surely weren’t turning back. Not with those eyes.

He pulled out the mystic’s key and stepped towards the door.

“This is it, Jack.” He turned back to me. “Are you sure you’re ready for this?”

I nodded. “I don’t think I could ever live my life normally after this. Not without facing what’s behind those doors.”

He slightly bowed his head and then put his focus back on the masterful door. He pushed the key directly into the mouth of the largest serpent. He paused for a second, closing his eyes. I could see slight movement from his mouth. This was his prayers.

He lifted his eyes back to the key and settled his hand on the end. He turned it easily.

Immediately, heavy mechanisms could be heard. They creaked and moaned as hundreds of years of dust and age shed off of them.

My eyes widened as the massive gold doors began to move. Slowly they hinged into the space beyond, releasing a musty smell of death and decay. My heart started pounding on my chest.

Sonny turned to me as the doors slid into their new resting place. For the first time, I saw fear in his face.

I could feel his eyes upon me as I walked shakily past him and into the darkness. It was in this place that I would take the lead.

Leave a Reply

