THE NOOSE

Dark is the silence that surrounds this room

Deep, deep into the cavernous tomb.

Hold still, my love, we are not through this yet.

Their eyes peer out, gaze stretching towards our souls.

The whites of their eyes give off a luminous shine. But down inside, they are empty.

Hold still my love, we are not through this yet.

I can feel their thoughts cloud my head.

“Bend our way, it is the best.”

They circle us, tightening the noose. “Change or you lose.”

Hold still, my love, we are not through this yet.

I reach for your hand and tighten my grasp.

Together we are stronger. Together we may last.

They cast out their hands and I feel your tremble.

They will not accept us. Our ideas should burn in hot embers.

One deep breathe. One moment longer.

Run, my love, run further.

Leave a Reply

