GROWN OCEAN – Fleet Foxes

After listening to the entire album of Helplessness Blues by the Fleet Foxes, amidst the wonderfully woven lyrics and harmonies, you arrive at the end destination that is Grown Ocean.

Listening to this song, I am filled with anxiety. And not a bad one. I’m talking about the kind of nervous excitement that fills you when you’re about to embark onto some kind of long awaited journey. One that you know contains so much happiness, so much fulfillment, that you cannot keep it in. It makes you run around; it makes you dance; it makes you smile; it makes you laugh; it makes you sing. It fills you completely up, leaving you bubbling over with a pounding heart that is on the brink of explosion.

Yes, that is this song.

At least, it is for me. It’s so bad that I usually have to avoid listening to it at work. Why? Because I will find myself not working and just melded into the song, daydreaming beyond what and who I really am.

I won’t deny that I’m honestly in love with the entire album (Helplessness Blues). In fact, if you have the time, I encourage you to start from the beginning with Montezuma and ride it all the way through The Plains and The Cascades to Grown Ocean. It’s definitely like riding a heavy wave and will flip the channels in your heart, but it is so worth it. Your soul will thank you.

Click here for the lyrics and enjoy the video below. Take a listen and breathe it in.

Leave a Reply

