JUST FINISHED: At Night We Walk in Circles; Now You See Me

Author: Daniel Alarcon, S.J. Bolton

Genre: Fiction, Thriller

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars, 4 out of 5 stars

Starting with At Night We Walk in Circles: This book took me a while to get in to. It started slow and kind of, initially, just moseyed around in the plot. At the beginning, I felt like I was being pulled along some every day story. Don’t misunderstand me there. An everyday story can become a great book, but the plot for this one at the beginning was just a bit mundane.

What eventually pulled the trigger and brought me through was when I realized that the story was being told from a character that I hadn’t yet met. That little bit alone piqued my curiosity and fueled me on. The story itself is like a mini-biography about a young man, Nelson, who is an actor going thru the tribulations of that stage between adulthood and youth. He joins a traveling, un-wealthy play-group (Diecembre) and tours the countryside.

The deeper I got into this novel, the more drawn to it I became. The characters began to fill out the pages and the mundane became interesting. The ending has quite a twist, one that both surprised me and yet made perfect sense.

With Now You See Me, it was a much different reading experience. I started this book on a Thursday and had finished it by Monday. This is a thriller/mystery that follows a young female detective who has been wilted into a serial killer’s crime spree from the start of it with the first death occurring in her own arms. The killer seems to follow the pattern of the not-forgotten Jack the Ripper and takes a special interest in involving our main character throughout.

While I found the gruesome murder detailing a bit disturbing for my taste, the rest of the book was quite overwhelming in the sense that I couldn’t put it down. I got into my “I have to know and I have to know NOW” mode. I love it when authors do that to me.

If you’re looking for a quiet but reflective novel, I would recommend At Night We Walk in Circles. If you’re looking for an adrenaline pushing and gut-wrenching (and pulling might I add?) piece, I recommend Now You See Me. The choice is yours!

Leave a Reply

