A SECOND

For that fleeting moment,

I felt it.

 

Flickering before my eyes

was a summer’s yesterday,

amidst the cold, dreary morning.

 

In that instant

I teetered on the edge of a memory.

Swaying to the present,

deeply breathing the past.

 

The sun glinting on the metal.

The soft chatter of voices.

The ground soft and spongy.

The lasting smell of warm rain.

 

I tell you that I was there.

I was in two places at one second,

and that love was carrying me then and now,

all at once.

Leave a Reply

