ON THE EDGE

I am exhausted.

My eyes

may fall out of my head.

 

My legs

they shake

like weeds in the wind.

 

But I keep walking

to divert the boredom.

Always on the edge.

 

Light weights become

sore muscles.

Bones ache.

Pain inflames.

It is hard to ignore.

 

But I keep walking

to divert the boredom.

Always on the edge.

 

Veins show through

tired skin.

Blood turns thin.

The body runs cold.

 

Rest is on the other side.

There I can refill

surrounding myself in

milky dreams of comfort.

But do not be fooled.

I didn’t give in.

 

I keep walking

to divert the boredom.

Always on the edge.

Leave a Reply

