UNREST

Sleep bids me,
calling me near.
Sweet pulsing waves
ride over me,
my body does not fear.

While it is true
that I long for it,
I still resist.
For it’s not time yet.
There are too many things
before me.
And my mind will not rest.

Circling,
teetering,
worrying – a never-ending bout.
Fitting ends that don’t match.
Forcing patterns that don’t lap.
I can’t stop it.
But I know the way out.

Running the course,
I’ll eventually find the end.
Everything will unravel
and slumber will begin.

2 thoughts on “UNREST

Leave a Reply

