HOME

In all the places I go,
I still find myself
wishing for home.

No distance have I traveled,
no wonder I have marveled,
keeps me from dreaming
back on the comfortable,
warm,
and wanted.

There is a dull ache
in the space
deep within me
when I am afar.
And while sometimes
I can shake it,
the pain still finds me,
a ghost from my past beyond.

Whether a scent,
a laugh, or simple sound,
it returns with a soothing roar
to call me
and pull my heart
back to where it belongs.

One thought on “HOME

  1. Pat Johnson

    Hi Brittany,
    Glad that “Home” beckons and lures you back. Your descriptions were vivid and rich. Could really connect… Thanks for sharing.
    Love,
    Pat

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

